Squirrel!!!

There was a time when I was into paintballing. My circle of friends and I would get together almost every weekend and play capture the fort and such. This story is about the time my cousin and I had recently purchased new paintball guns and were goofing off on the fence yard we worked at one day. Originally I has brought my paintball gun to the yard to shoot the many cats that roamed around. I caught one sleeping in the side of the ribs and watched it leap three feet into the air and take off running like a bat out of Hell. After ten minutes of uncontrollable laughter subsided my cousin Lance noticed a squirrel prancing across the asphalt. He gets my attention saying, “Hey Erik, a squirrel!” He then proceeds to slowly walk around the squirrels left flank as I stay put in order to catch him in a cross fire. Upon reaching his position and signalling he’s ready, we open fire. This squirrel had No idea what was going on. After making contact atleast twice he is scrambling around looking for the closes tree to shimmy up for safety. Unfortunately he is out in the open on a paved parking lot withe the nearest tree a over a hundred feet away. As he dances around saying, “Oh SHIT! I’m under attack!! What Do I do? Where do I run?” In his little squirrel voice of squeaks. He takes off running to his right and sees a pole thinking he found his refuge and shimmys up this utility pole that goes no where. All the while Lance and I are firing rapidly in pursuit. Upon reaching the top of the pole he soon realizes that he is trapped. As the pole is not attached to anything there is no where else to go. The squirrel is trapped, with no cover at the top of an 6-8 inch diameter pole. While being trapped in Lance and my cross fire he is thinking. “Oh FUCK!! Fake tree! No where to go! What Now?” In a desperate attempt for survival he makes the decision to leap for it and makes the thirty feet plunge to the ground. Bounces twice making a thud thud sound and scrurries across the pavement then across the road to the woods on the other side. Lance and I could not stop laughing for twenty minutes. And this was as close to squirrel hunting I ever came.

Leave a comment